2022 Composition Prize open until January 9 2023

The Kendall National Violin Competition invites outstanding young Australian Composers (max. age 25 years on January 1 2022) to compete for its Watermark Composition Prize.

The Watermark Composition Prize of $ 2000 will be awarded for a composition for Violin Solo or Violin and Piano of a maximum duration of seven minutes. The winning entry will feature as the competition’s compulsory Australian work in the final round of the competition in March 2023 and will be performed by all four senior finalists of the competition. The submitted work must not have been previously performed in public..

Terms and Conditions
Entries for the 2022 Watermark Composition Prize must be sent as a pdf file attachment to the Artistic Director of the Kendall National Violin Competition (goetz.richter@sydney.edu.au). (subject line: 2022 Watermark Composition Prize Entry).
The attached pdf file of the composition itself should not contain the name of the composer or any information which would allow identification of the composer’s name. The pdf copy must be final and typeset or written in such a way that it will be useable for performance without further editorial revision.

The email itself must contain the name and contact details of the composer. An additional attachment must include a scanned copy of the competitor’s passport or birth-certificate to substantiate the age of the composer and residential status of the composer.

Only submissions from Australian citizens or residents will be accepted.

Closing Date
Entries for the 2023 Watermark Composition Prize must reach the competition by January 9 2023.

All entries will be blind reviewed by a panel of experts. The panel’s award of the 2022 Watermark Composition Prize will be final and not subject to further correspondence. The prize will be announced on January 16 2023 and the winning composer will be invited to attend the finals of the Violin Competition in March 2023 in Kendall.

By submitting their work for the 2022 Watermark Composition Prize the entrant agrees to the terms of the Watermark Composition Prize and in particular to the performance of the chosen work by the four finalists of the Kendall National Violin Competition in March 2023.

For further enquiries please contact Goetz Richter, Artistic Director – Kendall National Violin Competition (goetz.richter@sydney.edu.au)

2020 Winner

Purchase Microsonata !! here

Elizabeth Younan (1994) is an Australian composer of Lebanese descent from Sydney, who was until recently, living in Philadelphia, USA. Elizabeth was a featured Australian composer of Musica Viva’s 2018 International Concert Season, where her Piano Sonata was premiered by Van Cliburn silver medalist Joyce Yang. The work was subsequently nominated for “Instrumental Work of the Year” at the 2019 Art Music Awards. Accolades include the Jean Bogan Youth Prize for her Five Persian Preludes (2014), the 102.5 Fine Music and Willoughby Symphony Young Composer Award for her Clarinet Concerto (2016), and two Willgoss Prize Commissions, in association with UNSW and USYD (2020). Elizabeth’s work has been performed and broadcast in Australia, Italy, South Korea, the U.K. and the U.S.


Elizabeth holds a Bachelor of Music in Composition with First Class Honours (2015) and a Master of Music (2018) from The Sydney Conservatorium of Music where she studied with composer Carl Vine AO as a recipient of the prestigious Australian Postgraduate Award. Elizabeth currently studies as an Artist Diploma student under full scholarship at the Curtis Institute of Music, where she holds the Jimmy Brent Fellowship. She studies with Dr. Jennifer Higdon, Dr. David Ludwig and Dr. Richard Danielpour as the second Australian composer in history to be admitted to Curtis

Past Winners


Paper Boats - 2017 Watermark Composition Prize

Emma Greenhill won the 2017 Watermark Composition Competition with her Paper Boats. It was the Kendall National Violin Composition's compulsory work in the final round of the Kendall National Violin Competition in September 2017 and was performed by all four finalists of the competition.

The score for Paper Boats can now be purchased on Emma Greenhill's website https://www.emmagreenhillmusic.com/store

Rhapsody No 2 - 2015 Watermark Composition Prize

Download Rhapsody No 2

Jonathon Mui won the inaugural 2015 Watermark Composition Competition with his Rhapsody No 2. 

It is the Kendall National Violin Competition's compulsory Australian work for the final round of the competition in September 2016 and will be performed by all four finalists of the competition.